16.7 C
Wednesday, December 1, 2021
HomePoliticsMeghalaya: 12 MLAs, together with former CM Mukul Sangma, stop Congress, to...

Meghalaya: 12 MLAs, together with former CM Mukul Sangma, stop Congress, to affix TMC immediately

The transfer comes after Congress MP Kirti Azad and ex-JD(U) normal secretary Pawan Varma joined the Mamata Banerjee-led get together

File picture of former Meghalaya chief minister Mukul Sangma. PIB

In a large jolt to the opposition Congress in Meghalaya, 12 of its 17 MLAs led by former chief minister Mukul Sangma will be part of Mamata Banerjee’s Trinamool Congress on Thursday, mentioned one of many defecting lawmakers H M Shangpliang.

“Twelve MLAs of the Congress out of 17 in Meghalaya have decided to join the TMC. We will formally join the TMC under the leadership of former CM Mukul Sangma,” Shangpliang, the MLA from Mawsynram in East Khasi Hills district informed.

The event is a significant enhance for West Bengal chief minister and TMC chief Mamata Banerjee, who has been making an attempt to increase her get together’s footprint past her state.

The transfer additionally got here a day after Congress MP from Bihar Kirti Azad, former Janata Dal (United) normal secretary Pawan Varma and Haryana politician Ashok Tanwar joined her get together.

At present, Mamata Banerjee is in Delhi the place she met Prime Minister Narendra Modi and in addition BJP’s Subramaniam Swamy.

With inputs from PTI

Learn all of the Newest Information, Trending InformationCricket Information, Bollywood Information,
India Information and Leisure Information right here. Comply with us on Fb, Twitter and Instagram.

Supply hyperlink



Please enter your comment!
Please enter your name here

- Advertisment -

Most Popular