17.5 C
Wednesday, December 1, 2021
HomePolitics12 of 17 Congress MLAs be a part of Mamata Banerjee's TMC...

12 of 17 Congress MLAs be a part of Mamata Banerjee’s TMC in Meghalaya: Reviews

In a significant blow to Congress in Meghalaya, as many as 12 of its 17 MLAs within the state joined Trinamool Congress, declare sources.

“12 out of 17 Congress MLA from Meghalaya have joined Trinamool Congress,” claims Trinamool Congress sources.

The social gathering’s Meghalaya in-charge Manish Chatrath can go to Meghalaya on Thursday. Sources have knowledgeable that Chatrath has cancelled his Gujarat go to tomorrow.

“Manish Chatrath postponed tomorrow’s visit to Surat in Gujarat, where he was scheduled to attend late Congress leader Ahmed Patel’s first death anniversary,” sources stated.

Based on sources in Congress, Chatrath will quickly give a full report back to the social gathering’s interim president Sonia Gandhi.

Notably, Congress Basic Secretary KC Venugopal on November 18 held a gathering at AICC headquarters in New Delhi, which was attended by Manish Chatrath to judge to social gathering’s efficiency within the not too long ago concluded by-polls in Meghalaya.

The assembly was additionally joined by different social gathering leaders of the state together with MPCC President Vincent H Pala, CLP chief Mukul Sangma, MPCC working president M Arnpareen Lyngdoh, Secretary AICC in-charge Manipur Charles Pyngrope, MPCC working presidents Marthon Sangma and James Lyngdoh.

Meghalaya’s ruling social gathering, the Nationwide Individuals’s Celebration (NPP) received Rajabala, Mawryngkneng Meeting seats whereas the United Democratic Celebration (UDP) bagged Mawphlang Meeting seat within the bypolls which passed off on October 30.

TMC has witnessed a gentle stream of leaders becoming a member of its ranks after quitting from Congress in the previous few months.

In September, former Goa chief minister Luizinho Faleiro joined TMC after resigning from the first membership of Congress. Following Faleiro shift, 9 different leaders from Congress additionally joined TMC, sources had knowledgeable.

Congress MP from Assam’s Silchar and ex-president of All India Mahila Congress, Sushmita Dev had joined the TMC in August this 12 months. She has been assigned to take care of TMC’s affairs in Tripura.

Furthermore, Luizinho Faleiro and Sushmita Dev each have been awarded Rajya Sabha seats after becoming a member of TMC.

Forward of the 2022 Goa meeting polls, North Goa Congress Seva Dal Chief Ulhas Vaskar and Shiv Sena Block President (Ponda) Vinod Borkar joined the TMC on October 21.

Congress chief Kirti Azad and former Haryana Congress president Ashok Tanwar additionally not too long ago joined TMC. Tanwar was as soon as an in depth aide of Rahul Gandhi.

Two senior Congress leaders of Uttar Pradesh had joined TMC in October together with Rajeshpati Tripathi and Lalitpati Tripathi.

Rajeshpati is an ex-MLC and Laliteshpati is former Uttar Pradesh Congress vice-president and an ex-MLA. Rajeshpati and Laliteshpati are the grandson and the great-grandson of former Uttar Pradesh chief minister Kamalapati Tripathi, respectively.

Banerjee had visited Delhi in July this 12 months. It was her first go to after Trinamool Congress returned to energy within the Bengal Meeting polls. Throughout her go to, he had met Sonia Gandhi and Rahul Gandhi amongst different leaders.

Subscribe to Mint Newsletters

* Enter a sound e mail

* Thanks for subscribing to our publication.

By no means miss a narrative! Keep related and knowledgeable with Mint.
our App Now!!

Supply hyperlink



Please enter your comment!
Please enter your name here

- Advertisment -

Most Popular